Massachusetts Driver's License Law: Suspension and Revocation: Hardship License
The Registrar of Motor Vehicles has the right to suspend or revoke your driver's license according to Massachusetts law or in cases where the Registrar considers you to be a threat to public safety. Some motor vehicle violations require the immediate suspension or revocation of your license. You can also lose your license by committing a number of moving violations over time or being at fault in a number of accidents. Many of our clients have Massachusetts license suspensions years old, only to find that their new state refused to renew their drivers license because of the outstanding Massachusetts matter.
Attorneys for Massachusetts Speeding Ticket Defense know the rules and regulations, Codes of Massachusetts Regulations (CMR's), National Driver Registry (NDR) rules and regulations and policies of the Registry of Motor Vehicles. As a consequence, clients who hire our lawyers receive counsel from persons of vast experience and who have day-to-day experience in negotiating with hearings officers. Our lawyers regularly appear before the division of insurance and obtain the best possible result. Often times, it is possible to wipe out the suspension. When suspension is inevitable, attorneys are able to strike a deal to narrow the amount of time that a license is suspended. Our lawyers also handle matters on behalf of clients with Massachusetts license issues throughout the United States, and as such have appeared in 17 states' Motor Vehicle Departments.
Contact a Lawyer to specializing Massachusetts Drivers License Law Here >>
Reasons for a Massachusetts Drivers License Suspension
The law requires the Registrar to suspend or revoke your driver's license automatically in several instances. The chart below summarizes the situations where suspension is mandatory. In addition to automatic license suspension, the Registrar has the discretionary right to suspend or revoke your license in the following cases:
Immediate threat - If the Registrar determines that by allowing you to continue driving you pose an immediate threat to public safety, the Registrar can suspend your learner's permit or driver's license immediately.
Improper operation - If it is determined at a hearing that you have operated a motor vehicle improperly, the Registrar can suspend your driving privileges.
False or Altered Licenses/ Identification Cards It is against the law to use a false license or ID, to alter a license or ID, or to use another person's license or ID. It is also against the law to use false information to obtain a license or ID. In most cases illegal use of these is a felony and serious penalties may apply.These penalties are not limited to an attempt to purchase alcohol. M.G.L.c.90,s.22(e) allows the RMV to suspend your license or right to operate in Massachusetts for 6 months. A conviction is not required. If you are convicted of this offense, your license will be suspended for 1 year.
|Situation||Explanation||Suspension Period||Fee to Reinstate|
|Three (3) SpeedingViolations||Three speeding violations convictions within any one (1) year period.||30 days||$50|
|Five (5) Surchargeable Events||Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total five surchargeable events within a three (3) year period.||Must complete Driver Re-Training Program within 90 days or license will be suspended indefinitely until course is completed.||$50|
|Seven (7) Surchargeable Events||Any combination of moving violations and surchargeable accidents that total seven surchargeable events within a three (3) year period.||60 daysYou must also complete Driver Re-Training Program.||$50|
|Habitual Traffic Offender||A total of three (3) major moving violations, or any combination of twelve (12) major or minor moving violations within a five (5) year period.||4 years||$300|
|Out-of-State Suspension||Your license has been suspended or revoked in another state.||Until the out-of-state suspension is resolved.||$50|
Driving Without a License
It is illegal to drive in Massachusetts without a valid driver's license or permit. If your license or permit has been suspended or revoked for any reason, your license or permit is NOT valid and you are NOT permitted to drive in the Commonwealth. Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is considered a criminal motor vehicle violation, and you may face a considerable fine and/or a jail sentence.
If your license is suspended or revoked, you have the right to a hearing with a hearings officer. At your hearing, you will be allowed to present your case and be represented by a lawyer. Once you have been found guilty or responsible of a violation, the facts of the incident are no longer relevant, and the hearings officer will not have the discretion to waive a valid suspension.